An Angel Touched Down on Friday

About mid-morning on Friday, I headed out for my weekly grocery shopping.  As I drove out of the driveway, I noted a car parked in front of the house, and a woman wearing a ball cap and carrying a hydrangea walking up to the front door.  I stopped, rolled down the passenger window, and yelled, “My husband’s disabled and won’t…”

The woman turned, shouting, “Carla! It’s Teri!” She started toward my car as I flipped the gear into park.

Teri and I had sung in the choir together before I’d left the Catholic Church.  I hadn’t seen her in years, but we’d kept tabs on Facebook, so her appearance didn’t shock me.  She wore the ball cap to cover the peach fuzz on her scalp, and a baggy shirt to camouflage the concave chest where her breasts had been.  She leaned through the car window, “I read your blog on grief this morning and it moved me so much I had to do something to cheer you and Dale today.”

Words caught in my throat.  I got out of the car, rounded the hood and hugged this dear lady.  Then I held her shoulders and looked into her blue eyes welling with tears and said, “You are still so beautiful.”

She told me she would be returning to work soon, part time, and that her husband is a wonderful caregiver.  We chatted for a couple more minutes, this angel and I, before parting.

I cried all the way to the grocery store, astounded by this generous soul who had been through so much personal suffering herself, yet whose heart spilled with love and empathy for others.  I thought about those who often wonder “What would Jesus do in a given situation.”  And then I thought, “Teri just did it.”

 

 

2 thoughts on “An Angel Touched Down on Friday

Leave a comment